Office of Academic Affairs Office of Faculty Affairs

Guggenheim Fellows

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation 1925.

From the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation: "Often characterized as 'midcareer' awards, Guggenheim Fellowships are intended for men and women who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts."

The following faculty members of The Ohio State University have been recognized as Guggenheim Fellows.

  • Ryan Johnson, Post MFA Dance Scholar (2024)
  • Gina Osterloh, Associate Professor of Art (2024) 
  • Abby Zbikowski, Associate Professor of Dance (2024)
  • David Brakke, Joe R. Engle Chair in the History of Christianity and Professor of History (2022)
  • Julia Andrews, Distinguished University Professor of History of Art (2016)
  • James Bartholomew, Professor of History of Science & Technology (2001)
  • James Beatty, Professor of Astronomy-Astrophysics (2001)
  • Barbara Becker-Cantarino, Professor of Germanic Languages and Literatures (1985)
  • Morris Beja, Professor of English (1972)
  • Alan Beyerchen, Professor of History (1983)
  • Kevin Boyle, Humanities Distinguished Professor of History (2001)
  • John Brooke, Humanities Distinguished Professor of History (1997)
  • Henri Cole, Professor of Poetry (2005)
  • Sarah Cole, Professor of Literary Criticism (2014)
  • Alice Conklin, Professor of History (2000)
  • Ovidiu Costin, Professor of Mathematics (2008)
  • Kevin R. Cox, Professor of Geography & Environmental Studies (2000)
  • Dick Davis, Professor of Near Eastern Studies (1999)
  • Robert C. Davis, Professor of History (1999)
  • Carter Findley, Professor of History (2003)
  • Edward B. Foley, Charles W. Ebersold and Florence Whitcomb Ebersold Chair in Constitutional Law; Director, Election Law (2023)
  • Avner Friedman, Distinguished University Professor of Mathematics (1966)
  • Fritz Graf, Distinguished University Professor of Classics (2004)
  • Kathy Fagan Grandinetti, Professor English (2023)
  • Barbara Hanawalt, Professor of History (1988)
  • David Haskell, Professor of Science Writing (2014)
  • Robert Hite, Professor of Fine Arts (2014)
  • Tin-Lun Ho, Professor of Physics (1999)
  • David L. Hoffman, Distinguished Professor of History (2023)
  • Andrew Hudgins, Professor of Poetry (2004)
  • Gregory Jusdanis, Professor of Near Eastern Studies (1992)
  • Steven Kern, Humanities Distinguished Professor of History (2002)
  • Bruce A. Kimball, Professor of Education (201)
  • John N. King, Distinguished University Professor and Humanities Distinguished Professor of English and of Religious Studies (2009)
  • Joseph Lynch, Professor of History (1999)
  • Judith Mayne, Distinguished Humanities Professor of French (2008)
  • Bebe Miller, Professor of Choreography (1975)
  • Henry Moscovici, Professor of Mathematics (1995)
  • John E. Mueller, Woody Hayes Chair of National Security Studies at the Mershon Center for International Security Studies (1987)
  • Ardine Nelson, Professor of Photography (2008)
  • Christopher Otter, Professor of History (2020)
  • Geoffrey Parker, Distinguished University Professor and Andreas Dorpalen Professor of European History and Associate of the Mershon Center for International Security Studies (2001)
  • Amy Shuman, Professor of Folklore & Popular Culture (1989)
  • Krzysztof Stanek. Professor of Astronomy, University Distinguished Scholar (2022)
  • Fei-Ran Tian, Professor of Mathematics (2003 )
  • J. Marshall Unger, Professor of Linguistics (2004)
  • Carmen Winant, Associate Professor of Art (2019)
  • Dongping Zhong, Professor of Chemistry (2013)