Office of Academic Affairs Office of Faculty Affairs

National Academies

Text shows National Academies on a purple background.

The National Academies perform an unparalleled public service by bringing together committees of experts in all areas of scientific and technological endeavor. These experts serve pro bono to address critical national issues and give advice to the federal government and the public. Four organizations comprise the Academies: the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences, and the National Research Council.

Nomination Process Toolkit for National Academies

Recognizes and acknowledges the excellence of Ohio State faculty.

Download the toolkit



The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) is an independent, nonprofit organization that works outside of government to provide unbiased and authoritative advice to decision makers and the public. The NAM is the health arm of the National Academy of Sciences. Nominations begin on November 1 and close on February 1.

The Ohio State University’s current members of the National Academy of Medicine:

  • Carol R. Bradford, Medicine
  • Clara Bloomfield, Medicine
  • Michael Caligiuri, Medicine
  • Carlo Croce, Internal Medicine
  • Michael V. Drake, Ophthalmology
  • Steven Gabbe, Medicine
  • Wondwossen A. Gebreyes, Veterinary Medicine
  • Janice Kiecolt-Glaser, Psychology
  • William Grobman, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Lonnie King, Veterinary Medicine
  • Elaine R. Mardis, Pediatrics
  • Bernadette Melnyk, Nursing
  • Jerry R. Mendell, Medicine
  • Milap Nahata, Pharmacy
  • Jacqueline Nwando Olayiwola, Medicine


The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) mission is to promote the technological welfare of the nation by marshaling the knowledge and insights of eminent members of the engineering profession. Click here for information about nominations. Nominations occur between February and May, and nomination packets are available only to NAE-elected members.

The Ohio State University’s current members of the National Academy of Engineering:

  • Antonio Conejo, Integrated Systems Engineering
  • Stuart Cooper, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
  • Jose Cruz, Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Liang-Shih Fan, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
  • Dorota Grejner-Brzezinska, Civil, Environmental and Geodetic Engineering
  • Joseph Heremans, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
  • W.S. Winston Ho, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
  • Alan Luo, Materials Science & Engineering, Integrated Systems Engineering
  • William Marras, Industrial & Systems Engineering
  • Umit Ozkan, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
  • Judit E. Puskas, Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
  • Robert Rapp, Materials Science & Engineering
  • Robert Wagoner, Materials Science & Engineering
  • Marvin H. White, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • James Williams, Materials Science & Engineering
  • Longya Xu, Electrical & Computer Engineering 


The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfareClick here for more information about nominations. Nominations occur throughout the year, culminating in a final ballot at the Academy’s annual meeting in April.

The Ohio State University’s members of The National Academy of Sciences:

  • Claudia Turro, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • David Weinberg, Astronomy
  • Anita K. Hopper, Genetics
  • Carlo Croce, Internal Medicine
  • Albert de la Chapelle, Molecular Virology, Immunology & Medical Genetics
  • David Denlinger, Entomology
  • Avner Friedman, Mathematics
  • Tina Henkin, Microbiology
  • Clark Larsen, Anthropology
  • Ellen Mosley-Thompson, Human Environmental Science
  • Yasuko Rikihisa, Veterinary Biosciences
  • Linda Saif, Veterinary Preventive Medicine
  • Lonnie Thompson, Geological Sciences


The National Academy of Inventors (NAI) is a non-profit organization dedicated to encouraging inventors in academia, following the model of the National Academies of the United States. Click here for information on NAI Fellowships. Fellowship nominations are open from May to July, with the winners announced in December.

The Ohio State University’s current members of the National Academy of Inventors:

  • Jianrong Li, Veterinary Medicine
  • Peixuan Guo, Pharmacy
  • Ayanna M. Howard, Engineering
  • Stuart L. Cooper, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Carlo Croce, Cancer Biology and Genetics
  • M. Monica Giusti, Food Science and Technology
  • Renukaradhya Gourapura, Veterinary Preventative Medicine
  • Judit E. Puskas, Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
  • Katrina Cornish, Horticulture and Crop Science (OARDC)
  • Prabir Dutta, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Hesham El Gamal, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Liang-Shih Fan, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Renukaradhya Gourapura, Veterinary Preventive Medicine
  • Yasuko Rikihisa, Veterinary Biosciences
  • Linda Saif, Veterinary Preventive Medicine (OARDC)
  • Caroline Whitacre, Microbial Infection and Immunity